header3

Welcome to the town of Stockholm, Maine

The town of Stockholm began in 1881. It was first named Upsala after a suburb of Stockholm in old Sweden. Later, probably with aspirations to greatness, the name was changed to Stockholm, after the capital of Sweden.

Early in the town's history, forests, agriculture and the railroad were important. The Madawaska River was dammed and many mills were located nearby. At one time, the Stockholm Lumber Company ran two shifts, each shift sawing 45,000 board feet!

Schools, stores, an apartment house, a boarding house, and several farms sprang up. Two churches were built in the early years, with a third joining them in 1928. There was a band, baseball teams, Odd Fellows Hall, Grange and Eureka Hall; a thriving community. In the 1920's the town reached its peak population of 1,300. After the 1929 stock market crash, many mills closed and the workers left. The town turned to the growing of potatoes. A small amount of lumbering continued.

130 years later finds us a quiet town with many of the same groups working together. The three churches are still active; Eureka Hall, renovated and restored, offers a delightful dining experience. Anderson's grocery has also been restored and now sells gasoline, as well as presenting a corner for a Kaffee Klatsch where world affairs are discussed daily. To everyone's dismay, the school had to close its doors in 2004 and our children are now bused to New Sweden for elementary classes.

The first store in town, Anderson Brothers, is now the property of the Stockholm Historical Society Museum and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The museum has thousands of artifacts and brings many genealogists and history buffs to town.