County Treasurer


The County Treasurer position is an elected office. This individual is elected every four years and performs the duties described in 30-A, M.R.S.A., Section 171.

The Treasurer's duties include:

  • Deposit and management of all funds received;
  • Disbursement of payment for all accounts and claims;
  • Collection of taxes from Aroostook municipalities;
  • Maintains all accounting records in the manner approved by the Department of Audit and Treasurer of State;
  • Provides the County Commissioners reports on all receipts and payments and an annual audited accounting report of County books;
  • Prepares an annual financial report for distribution to the County's citizens.

All the above duties are with the approval and in cooperation with the County Commissioners.